Easy green tips #2

Image from eHow.

Image from eHow.

Organic Gardening

So, you’ve started composting, right?  Right?  Okay, in a month or so, when you have a heap of soft, fertile, compost, what are you going to do with it?  The simplest and most obvious use of compost is gardening.

Organic gardening is easy whether you live on a ranch or in an apartment.  You just need some space, regular sunlight, a few pots, and some soil to grow tomatoes, peppers, and beans.  Once you get started, you will find the process of growing vegetables very rewarding.

As more negative findings on pesticides come out yearly, and prices of organic produce at the supermarket continue to be restrictive, gardening is a cost-effective way to eat healthy, chemical-free food.

If you cannot grow enough variety in your space, try to buy produce from organic farmers.  To find a local farmers’ market or farm near you, go to Local Harvest.  eHow also offers a helpful article on starting an organic garden.  Last but not least, Nature’s News has a great post on the benefits of shopping at a farmers’ market.

3 thoughts on “Easy green tips #2

  1. LOL! I loved your starting question to this article. I really appreciated how you encouraged people to check out organic gardening in terms of how they can use their compost. I am still shocked on how many people I see mixing compost in with their gardens, and then fertilizing it and spraying all sorts of herbicides and pesticides on their plants. Eek!

    p.s Thanks for the referral to my site for the Farmer’s Market information 🙂 Its amazing to see so many more people starting to check these markets – I really think it makes a huge green difference to shop that way.

    • I’m glad you like the article! My plan is to write “easy green tips” regularly, because I want to emphasize that the green lifestyle often involves simple, beneficial changes.

      I love farmers’ markets and organic gardens because the food is healthier for people and for the planet. And I’d rather support small farmers than big agribusinesses. I am lucky enough to have an old-fashioned dairy farm (you know, the kind that actually has grass) nearby, so I can eat cheese and butter without feeling guilty. ^_^

      P.S. You’re welcome! I especially liked your point on how buying directly from farmers reduces packaging waste – unnecessary packaging is something that really annoys me.

  2. I think its a great idea for you to put together a series like this. Unfortunately so many people think the lifestyle changes necessary to make a difference, involved a lot of work or money. Going green doesn’t have to be hard or expense. And if enough people make a few small changes, the overall impact is huge.

    I guess I am pretty lucky here as we are surrounded by farmer’s fields 🙂 Fresh and local is definitely the best way to go.

    Pastures and fields are sort of taken for granted around here but with continuing urban sprawl, our small community is growing and we are losing more and more natural and agricultural lands.

    As for the packaging, its a topic that really irks me too and is something I am going to be doing some serious blogging about. Something really needs to be done.

    My husband injured himself at work and has gone back to school for re-training and has chosen packaging design. While he is not quite the eco-fanatic I am, hopefully I can make a big enough influence through him to get companies to cut back on all these needless waste. It’s insane.

Leave a Reply

